Tuition and Fee Policies

Excessive Hours

Texas Education Code §54.014 specifies a maximum number of semester credit hours an undergraduate student may attempt while paying Texas resident tuition.  Students who exceed the maximum hour limitations will be charged the non-resident tuition rate. Read more about excessive hours.

Course Repeat Fee

The Texas Legislature eliminated funding to higher education for courses that are attempted three or more times. In order to compensate for this loss of state funding, Texas Education Code 54.014 specifies that students attempting a course for the third or more time may be charged a fee in addition to the tuition charged for the course. Read more about the course repeat fee.

Returned Checks

If a check (including e-check), or checks are returned unpaid for any reason (such as insufficient funds, account closed, no account found) other than the admitted error of the bank, the student must pay via cashier’s check, money order or credit/debit card immediately, and a $30 service fee is assessed for each returned check. Read more about the returned item policy.

Void Payment Policy

Void payments can only be performed on the same day during normal business hours, Monday-Friday 8 am-5pm. Payments made after 5pm cannot be voided. If you have made sufficient payment to confirm your semester courses and then request that payment be voided, you will be unconfirmed from your semester courses and you will be subject to cancellation should you not make other payment arrangements by the designated due date. Read more about the void payment policy.

Collections Policy

Non-active students with a past due balance owed to Texas State University are initially contacted by Student Business Services - Collections Office to make payment arrangements. If we are unable to collect the balance internally, we transfer collection efforts to a professional partner. Read more about the collections policy.

Tuition Set-Aside Information

Senate Bill 1304, passed by the 81st Texas Legislature, directs institutions of higher education to provide notices to students (Texas Education Code, Section 56.014) who pay designated tuition of the amount of the tuition that is set aside for financial assistance.  Therefore, Texas State University is required by law (Texas Education Code, Sections 56.011, 56.012, and 56.465) to set aside a percentage of designated tuition for financial assistance programs. Read more about tuition set-aside information.

Tuition Rebate

Under Texas Education Code §54.0065, qualified students who meet the eligibility criteria will receive up to a $1,000 tuition rebate upon graduation from Texas State. To earn the rebate, it is particularly important to follow the advice and counsel of the academic advisers. Please refer to the university policy, UPPS 03.01.13, for further review and list of requirements of the Tuition Rebate Program. Read more about the Tuition Rebate Program.